Buying a new computer

For any computer related topics such as hardware, operating systems, computer problems and the like.

Moderators: HeRetiK, The inner Core

User avatar
Devil
damaged
damaged
Posts: 178
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2006 6:32 pm
Location: The Hell Of Holland

Buying a new computer

Postby Devil » Wed Apr 12, 2006 10:48 am

Ok, my computer sucks. That's why I want to buy a new computer.
Some info of my computer now:

Dell Optiplex 170L
Processor(or how do you say that in english) - Intel Celeron 2.6 GHz
Graphics card - Intel Extreme Graphics 82865G, 64 MB but 98 mb shared.
RAM - 256 MB
NO DVD PLAYER!!!!!

Graphics card gives a lot of trouble with the games I play.
I takes more than 5min. for fully loading and starting the computer.
I hate it that I haven't got a DVD player!!

Now you know why I want to buy a new computer :P
Some questions:
What's the difference between DDR and DDR2??
What's FSB?
What's L2-cache?
Any advice is welcome!!
Devil
I'm hell's artist....

User avatar
ardizt
Captain Evil Stomper
Posts: 4906
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2004 1:45 pm
Location: Finland

Postby ardizt » Wed Apr 12, 2006 12:06 pm

Looks like that all you need is a new graphics card and another block of 256MB Ram (about 500MB recommended)

And DVD-drive is a must

User avatar
Gravesent
For Whom The Bell Tolls
Posts: 3690
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2005 12:21 am
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Contact:

Postby Gravesent » Wed Apr 12, 2006 12:12 pm

First of all it's a big waste to buy a new computer when you can simply upgrade this one, if you replace you add another 256 mb memory card, get an nVidia or ATI graphics (like an FX 5200 or even better an ati 9600) you get a good PC at minimum cost, you can even buy 1 gb or ram and an even better video card and a DVD writer and you're still better off than buying a new PC, if you need help with upgrades just ask.

-DDR is a type of memory, it means double data rate (a.k.a faster than SDR which was "single data rate") DDR2 is the same thing only better, here's a link where it's compared to DDR if you're curious:
http://www.overclockercafe.com/Articles/DDR_vs_DDR2/

-FSB is front side bus and it's a feature that processors have, the bigger the better, overall a good FSB helps to make better connections between memory, the video card and the processor, more detail here:
http://www.computerhope.com/jargon/f/fsb.htm

L2 Cache is one of the internal memories of the processor, simply put, the more cache a proc has the more information it can process in a single burst (that's if I got it right), here's another link to make thing clear on this too:
http://www.cyberwalker.net/columns/dec99/091299.html
Order, symmetry, discipline and balance.

User avatar
Devil
damaged
damaged
Posts: 178
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2006 6:32 pm
Location: The Hell Of Holland

Postby Devil » Wed Apr 12, 2006 12:58 pm

Many thanks, I was already thinking of only buying more ram and a graphics card, but I thought: "Why don't buy a complete new one?". :P
But if I upgrade my computer I still have a sucky FSB and that sort of stuff. Does better FSB, L2 Cache and DDR2 make a lot of difference??
Because my Dell Optiplex is just the cheapest computer on the world I don't think there's a lot of new stuff in it.
I got it for 64€ with a mobile phone :P
Devil

I'm hell's artist....

User avatar
Schnabel von Rom
divine
divine
Posts: 2422
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2004 8:25 pm
Location: Teh town

Postby Schnabel von Rom » Wed Apr 12, 2006 4:04 pm

The FSB and the L2 Cache does not matter that much for the performance, but the RAM is important, specially if you want the games to load faster.

Does your mainboard have AGP og PCI-EX port? Or maybe neither?
You may also need a new powersupply, depends on how many watts the graphics card requires.

Do you plan to do the upgrade yourself?

User avatar
Devil
damaged
damaged
Posts: 178
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2006 6:32 pm
Location: The Hell Of Holland

Postby Devil » Wed Apr 12, 2006 6:14 pm

I don't know if I will buy a new one or just upgrade the old one yet.
And for the mainboard: I think it's neither, but need to check that first.
Devil

I'm hell's artist....

User avatar
Gravesent
For Whom The Bell Tolls
Posts: 3690
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2005 12:21 am
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Contact:

Postby Gravesent » Wed Apr 12, 2006 9:43 pm

If you can tell me the exact model of the mainboard I can tell you if it's worth the trouble to upgrade, if you got the doe and have no problem spending it by all means get a new PC.

Only a better FSB or a better cache won't make a huge difference, but a better FSB combined with a better cache and a ddr2 memory and a sata hard drive and a 64 bit processor and a PCI-EX videocard (or even two) will most certanly make a difference :)

Damn it, imagine a computer with an Athlon 64 4000+ with 2gb of memory and 2xgeforce 6800 pci-ex grapic cards.. add two hitachy 500gb hdd's.

Now that's a dream machine.
This is a good place to build a PC from what I can tell they have all the cool shit, thou I'm not sure if it's exactly the best price:
http://www.falcon-nw.com/config2/build.asp
And here's the main site:
http://www.falcon-nw.com/flash/
Order, symmetry, discipline and balance.

User avatar
Guitar_clock
divine
divine
Posts: 11482
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2003 6:59 pm
Location: Buffalo, NY
Contact:

Postby Guitar_clock » Thu Apr 13, 2006 3:56 am

Bad graphics bad ram

EWWWW

User avatar
Gravesent
For Whom The Bell Tolls
Posts: 3690
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2005 12:21 am
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Contact:

Postby Gravesent » Thu Apr 13, 2006 6:13 am

Then... what's better? They have that nVidia 4 chipset graphic system and you can chose to have corsairre ram..
Order, symmetry, discipline and balance.

User avatar
Guitar_clock
divine
divine
Posts: 11482
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2003 6:59 pm
Location: Buffalo, NY
Contact:

Postby Guitar_clock » Thu Apr 13, 2006 6:16 am

I'd prefer quad SLI

But I don't have $5,000

User avatar
Devil
damaged
damaged
Posts: 178
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2006 6:32 pm
Location: The Hell Of Holland

Postby Devil » Thu Apr 13, 2006 6:33 am

Guitar_Clock wrote:Bad graphics bad ram

EWWWW


You're right man, I'm suffering here!!
HELP!!
I'm used to wait looooong loading times. :cry:
Man, I have AOE3 and that's not a good combination with my computer.
Devil

I'm hell's artist....

User avatar
Devil
damaged
damaged
Posts: 178
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2006 6:32 pm
Location: The Hell Of Holland

Postby Devil » Fri Apr 14, 2006 6:14 pm

I decided to just buy a new PC.
Check this site: http://ankermann-pc.com/
They have the most cheap high-end PCs!!!(for me it is high end compared to my old computer)
Check this one:

Intel P4 64Bit 3.0GHz model '630'
€499.00 incl. V.A.T. + shipping (What's VAT??)

Intel P4 64Bit 3.0GHz model '630' 2MB Cache
So.775 ASRock 775DUAL880Pro VIA Chipset
NVidia GeForce 6200 256MB TV-Out & DVI
SAMSUNG 250GB SATA-II HDD 7200rpm/8MB
1024 MB 533MHz DDR II RAM
16x LG 4167 Multiformat Dual Layer +&- DVD-RW
7.1 Sound, 6x USB 2.0, 10/100 Ethernet, 400W Power, Intel Box Cooler.

Can you tell me why it's so cheap?? Is it the main board???
Cause I don't know anything about main boards...
Devil

I'm hell's artist....

User avatar
Guitar_clock
divine
divine
Posts: 11482
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2003 6:59 pm
Location: Buffalo, NY
Contact:

Postby Guitar_clock » Fri Apr 14, 2006 6:45 pm

most likely the mainboard and the fact that the power supply is only the stock 400 watts. And no monitor.

User avatar
Devil
damaged
damaged
Posts: 178
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2006 6:32 pm
Location: The Hell Of Holland

Postby Devil » Fri Apr 14, 2006 6:55 pm

I already have a very good flatscreen, and I don't need a mouse or speakers also.

What's wrong with 400 watts???
I don't know anything about hardware..
Devil

I'm hell's artist....

User avatar
Guitar_clock
divine
divine
Posts: 11482
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2003 6:59 pm
Location: Buffalo, NY
Contact:

Postby Guitar_clock » Fri Apr 14, 2006 7:24 pm

nothing is wrong with 400 watts.

Just in the future if you ever upgrade (or if you want to overclock) something like 480 at least would be pretty good.

User avatar
Devil
damaged
damaged
Posts: 178
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2006 6:32 pm
Location: The Hell Of Holland

Postby Devil » Sat Apr 15, 2006 7:44 am

I have played on this comp for a few years without upgrading...
So I think the watts doesn't really matter to me then.
Devil

I'm hell's artist....

User avatar
Gravesent
For Whom The Bell Tolls
Posts: 3690
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2005 12:21 am
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Contact:

Postby Gravesent » Sat Apr 15, 2006 12:11 pm

I woulsn't trust the Asrock mainboard, I only tested two but had problems with both, the one for AMD (k7vt4a+) had low performance and was unstable, and the one for Intel (pm800) overheats, sometimes crashes windows and if you put two memory chips they work at no more than pci2700.
You shoul pay a few bucs more and get an MSI mainboard, or Abit.

The samsung hdd doesn't sound too good eider.


It's a good idea to get a good power suplie because even if 400w does hold the system it's at it's limits and having something working relaxed is always better than having something work at it's limits, not to mention that a cheap power suplie will have less than what is written on it, you can expect to have as low as 350w.
Note that you can also change the power suplie later, a separate one (without the case) shouldn't be very expensive.
Order, symmetry, discipline and balance.

User avatar
Devil
damaged
damaged
Posts: 178
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2006 6:32 pm
Location: The Hell Of Holland

Postby Devil » Sat Apr 15, 2006 12:25 pm

What's the difference between a PCI-e graphics card and an AGP8x graphics card???
If I choose a PCI-e graphics card I can choose a MSI mainboard too, and it's cheaper...
Devil

I'm hell's artist....

User avatar
Gravesent
For Whom The Bell Tolls
Posts: 3690
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2005 12:21 am
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Contact:

Postby Gravesent » Sat Apr 15, 2006 12:30 pm

PCI-EX is the new tipe of graphic card slot and it's better than agp 8x, make sure you buy an PCI-EX videocard too :)
Order, symmetry, discipline and balance.

User avatar
Devil
damaged
damaged
Posts: 178
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2006 6:32 pm
Location: The Hell Of Holland

Postby Devil » Sat Apr 15, 2006 12:41 pm

OK, now I can choose between this MSI main boards:

MSI PM8M3-v 0€ extra costs
MSI 945P Platinum 945P (PCI-e/DDR2) 103€ extra costs
MSI 945P Neo-F (PCI-e/DDR2) 58€ extra costs
MSI P4N SLI-FI (PCI-e/DDR2) 78€ extra costs
MSI 915PL NEO-F (PCI-e/DDR2) 30 € extra costs

What should I choose??
Is the first mainboard already good enough???
Devil

I'm hell's artist....

User avatar
Schnabel von Rom
divine
divine
Posts: 2422
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2004 8:25 pm
Location: Teh town

Postby Schnabel von Rom » Sun Apr 16, 2006 4:19 pm

If you are mostly using your computer for playing games you should consider AMD, which is the best choice for gaming and delivers most performance considering the value today. How much money can you spend? A GeForce 6200 will problems with newer games like F.E.A.R. and CoD 2.
Gravesent wrote:The samsung hdd doesn't sound too good eider.

What's wrong with it? The Spinpoints are awesome, probably one of the most quiet S-ATA's available.
Devil wrote:What should I choose??
Is the first mainboard already good enough???

No, VIA chipsets sucks. Believe me, I've got a VIA mainboard myself.

User avatar
Devil
damaged
damaged
Posts: 178
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2006 6:32 pm
Location: The Hell Of Holland

Postby Devil » Sun Apr 16, 2006 5:16 pm

I think the graphics card is good enough for me, I'm used to waiting long and shocking games.
And gaming is not everything I do. I'm into a lot of things on my computer.
And if I buy that computer, will it be good enough for Vista???(for the people that don't know, it's a new windows operating system)
Devil

I'm hell's artist....

User avatar
S. [Burned] Y.
divine
divine
Posts: 3748
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 7:09 am
Location: 4.252.99.182
Contact:

Postby S. [Burned] Y. » Sun Apr 16, 2006 6:03 pm

I posted a topic about it before MDF went down. It could be, but I last I knew Vista was not being released for a year or so.
For all we know humans are just weapons created by the world.
Yonaka Sanryu - This thread makes the EMOs slit their wrists.
Image

User avatar
Devil
damaged
damaged
Posts: 178
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2006 6:32 pm
Location: The Hell Of Holland

Postby Devil » Sun Apr 16, 2006 6:26 pm

That's right, they say it's being released end 2006.
It's much better, lots of improvements on programs like IE(I'm betatesting IE7 now, but I use opera.) and better graphics and interface.
Devil

I'm hell's artist....

User avatar
S. [Burned] Y.
divine
divine
Posts: 3748
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 7:09 am
Location: 4.252.99.182
Contact:

Postby S. [Burned] Y. » Sun Apr 16, 2006 6:36 pm

Pssh, if they require me to update more then 4 parts on my computer, screw it.
For all we know humans are just weapons created by the world.

Yonaka Sanryu - This thread makes the EMOs slit their wrists.

Image


Return to “Computers”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests