Windows XP Active desktop missing. WTF?

For any computer related topics such as hardware, operating systems, computer problems and the like.

Moderators: HeRetiK, The inner Core

User avatar
daemon
divine
divine
Posts: 2399
Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2008 8:13 pm

Windows XP Active desktop missing. WTF?

Postby daemon » Fri Nov 28, 2008 11:13 pm

Okay, I installed Winstep, and it asks to turn off the active desktop. I figured I know how to turn it back on, sure, why not? Well, the Web tab in the customize desktop. It just says general.

http://img444.imageshack.us/img444/6610/errorag4.png
Aut Viam Inveniam Aut Faciam.

User avatar
Azgarth
divine
divine
Posts: 5554
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 12:30 am
Location: holland

Postby Azgarth » Sat Nov 29, 2008 1:06 am

try one of these
idle curiosity:
why do you want active desktop?
why' d you use winstep?
Music over Matter

User avatar
daemon
divine
divine
Posts: 2399
Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2008 8:13 pm

Postby daemon » Sat Nov 29, 2008 1:16 am

I have black xp. Came with it.

and none of those worked.

the last one would have, but my web tab is missing.
Aut Viam Inveniam Aut Faciam.

User avatar
Azgarth
divine
divine
Posts: 5554
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 12:30 am
Location: holland

Postby Azgarth » Sat Nov 29, 2008 1:30 am

well... uninstall winstep?
also, i wouldn't recommend using a modded version like there, just get the regular version, and add whatever you want yourself.
and, unlike is normally the case, black xp actually has malware in most of its torrents/other downloads.
there's plenty of downloads with sp3 baked in, but no mods or anything, if you want i could link you.
that said, if you got the rig, you should consider vista, it's not actually half bad when you use it on a 2gig+ ram, 2.5ghz+ c2d, dx10.1 graphics card, setup.

what were you using active desktop for?

some links with possible solutions:
http://www.astahost.com/info.php/active ... 10103.html
http://www.411-registry-repair.com/deac ... ve-desktop

i'd put my bets on the latter, just do it in reverse, if you will (i.e. what they say turn on, you turn off, and vise versa)
Music over Matter

User avatar
daemon
divine
divine
Posts: 2399
Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2008 8:13 pm

Postby daemon » Sat Nov 29, 2008 1:41 am

Yeah, this laptop has:

1 gig or ram.
1.4 ghz processor.
Aut Viam Inveniam Aut Faciam.

User avatar
Guitar_clock
divine
divine
Posts: 11480
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2003 6:59 pm
Location: Buffalo, NY
Contact:

Postby Guitar_clock » Sat Nov 29, 2008 8:16 pm

... up date

User avatar
Azgarth
divine
divine
Posts: 5554
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 12:30 am
Location: holland

Postby Azgarth » Sat Nov 29, 2008 10:53 pm

lap top
ram' s pretty much all you can upgrade cheapish.
1.4 ghz that dual or single core? intel or AMD? you can' t just compare ghz to ghz, there' s other factors, just compares between same-kind procs.
Music over Matter

User avatar
daemon
divine
divine
Posts: 2399
Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2008 8:13 pm

Postby daemon » Sun Nov 30, 2008 7:21 pm

single core, intel. I got the laptop for free, and I am poor, so its all I got. I? can't get nothing else.

It did only have 504mb or ram, but I got some for my birthday, made me happy.
Aut Viam Inveniam Aut Faciam.

User avatar
Tweak1029
undetermined
undetermined
Posts: 58
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2008 3:17 am

Postby Tweak1029 » Thu Dec 18, 2008 5:41 am

I got rid of WinStep. I didn't like it.
Image
Frosty wrote:You hardly have the cred to be telling Burned how to write posts.

User avatar
daemon
divine
divine
Posts: 2399
Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2008 8:13 pm

Postby daemon » Thu Dec 18, 2008 5:55 pm

I don't like the nextStart but the docks are cool.
Aut Viam Inveniam Aut Faciam.

User avatar
Azgarth
divine
divine
Posts: 5554
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 12:30 am
Location: holland

Postby Azgarth » Thu Dec 18, 2008 6:04 pm

then why not replicate them with other apps?
Music over Matter

User avatar
daemon
divine
divine
Posts: 2399
Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2008 8:13 pm

Postby daemon » Fri Dec 19, 2008 12:54 am

I had yahoo widgets, but they hogged memory.
Aut Viam Inveniam Aut Faciam.

kevinjose356
latency
latency
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2011 8:35 am
Location: Los Angeles

Postby kevinjose356 » Fri Jan 20, 2012 2:17 am

I think yahoo has such great widgets which are helpful as well as free :)

User avatar
Azgarth
divine
divine
Posts: 5554
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 12:30 am
Location: holland

Postby Azgarth » Fri Jan 20, 2012 2:24 am

... that's the third botlike guy without link.
hery, we need to do anything with guys like this?
Music over Matter

User avatar
HeRetiK
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7931
Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2003 7:50 pm
Location: yurop
Contact:

Postby HeRetiK » Fri Jan 20, 2012 12:48 pm

There aren't any links in his profile either so I don't see any harm in it. Might be a legitimate (one time) user as well.


Return to “Computers”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests